



Campus of IFT-UNESP - São Paulo, Brasil







JULIA YEOMANS
University of Oxford, UK

FERNANDO BARROSO USP-Ribeirão Preto, Brazil



March 9-15, 2020



ERIK SANTISO NC State U., USA

EDUARDO LIMA UERJ, Brazil



APS & ICTP-SAIFR YOUNG
PHYSICISTS FORUM ON
BIOLOGICAL PHYSICS:
FROM MOLECULAR TO
MACROSCOPIC SCALE



ANTONIO CARLOS ROQUE USP-Ribeirão Preto, Brazil

MARKO DJORDJEVIC
U. of Belgrade, Serbia



NORDITA, Sweden

RALF EICHHORN



MOYSES NUSSENZVEIG UFRJ, Brazil

SHAKER CHUCK FARAH 10-USP. Brazil

Biological physics is a rapidly developing research area, attracting and challenging researchers from physical, mathematical and biological sciences. The primary purpose of this school is to provide the participants with a solid physical background on fundamental theoretical, experimental and computational concepts commonly used to study soft-and bio-matter systems from the molecular to the cellular scale, and to cross-pollinate these different disciplines.

Covering a broad spectrum of biophysical topics, this school for graduate students and postdoctoral researchers aims at discussing basic concepts as well as state-of-the-art research, and at fostering constructive interactions between theory, simulations and experiments. To this end, a series of about 10 topical lectures will be complemented by discussion and exercise sessions.

There is no registration fee and funds from the American Physical Society (APS) are available for travel and local expenses of participants from all regions.

Application deadline: January 19, 2020

Online application and more information: www.ictp-saifr.org/biophysics20





unesp





ORGANIZERS

Fernando Barroso (USP-Ribeirão Preto, Brazil)
Ralf Eichhorn (NORDITA, Sweden)

ICTP-SAIFR STEERING COMMITTEE
Carlos Brito Cruz - FAPESP scientific director
Atish Dabholkar - ICTP director
Luiz Davidovich - Brazil Acad. Science president
Peter Goddard - Search Committee chair
Juan Maldacena - Representing South America
Fernando Quevedo - ICTP former director
Sandro Valentini - UNESP rector

ICTP-SAIFR SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL
Michael Green (chair) - Univ. of Cambridge
Rosario Fazio - ICTP representative
Marcelo Yamashita - IFT-UNESP director
Marcel Clerc - U. de Chile
André de Gouvéa - Northwestern U.
Eduardo Fradkin - U. Illinois
Gabriela Gonzalez - LIGO, Louisiana State U.
Belita Koiller - UFRJ, Rio de Janeiro
Luis Lehner - Perimeter I., Waterloo
Gabriel Mindlin - U. de Buenos Aires

ICTP-SAIFR STAFF
Nathan Berkovits - Director
Rogerio Rosenfeld - Vice-Director
Pedro Vieira - Perimeter-SAIFR Coordinator
Jandira Oliveira - Executive Manager
Humberto Neto - Executive Secretary
Lucas Sanches - Computer Systems Manager
Lilia Faria - Financial Manager
Lucas David - Outreach Coordinator
Ana Luiza Serio - Outreach Coordinator
Malena Stariolo - Science Journalist
Adrianna Virmond - Science Journalist