Image credit: brewbooks/Flickr

# ICTP International Centre for Theoretical Physics SAIFR South American Institute for Fundamental Research

**Campus of IFT-UNESP – São Paulo, Brazil** 



## **SCHOOL ON BIOLOGICAL PHYSICS ACROSS SCALES: PATTERN FORMATION**

JOHAN VAN DE KOPPEL **Royal Netherlands Institute for** Sea Research, Netherlands

VERONICA GRIENEISEN **Cardiff University, UK** 



**NIGEL GOLDENFELD** 

**University of California** 



Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Germany

Systems as different as the cellular cytoskeleton, microbial communities in soil, and savanna landscapes have in common the emergence of patterns: random yet organized spatial structures that form in an otherwise translationally invariant space. These structures emerge due to the local, individual-level interactions of agents - proteins, cells, trees - that, on a larger scale, result in nonlinear dynamics for the density field. Crucial phenomena hinge on the formation of these patterns: mitosis, embryo development, bacterial population survival, ecosystem's robustness to aridification.

While broadly different in scale, these systems can be theoretically described by similar statistical physics frameworks, an approach pioneered by Alan Turing in 1952 and still the focus of very active development. The goal of this school is to bring together experts on these different systems using mathematical modeling, experimental approaches and modern data-driven techniques to engage in an interdisciplinary dialogue about pattern formation in living systems.

There is no registration fee and limited funds are available for local expenses.

Application deadline: September 8, 2024

**Online application and more information:** 

ictp-saifr.org/sbpspf2024













#### **ORGANIZERS**

**Ricardo Martinez-Garcia** CASUS / HZDR, Germany & ICTP-SAIFR/IFT-UNESP, Brazil

### **Pierre Ronceray**

CINaM, Turing Centre for Living Systems, CNRS / Aix-Marseille Université, France

ICTP-SAIFR STEERING COMMITTEE Atish Dabholkar (chair, ICTP director) Pasqual Barretti (UNESP rector) Márcio de Castro Silva Filho (FAPESP scientific director) Hugo Aguilaniu (Serrapilheira president-director) Helena Nader (Brazilian Academy of Sciences president) Juan Maldacena (South American representative)

ICTP-SAIFR SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL Carlos Brito Cruz (chair, Elsevier) Rosario Fazio (ICTP) Ricardo Matheus (IFT-UNESP) William Bialek (Princeton Univ.) Eduardo Fradkin (Univ. of Illinois) Gabriela Gonzalez (Louisiana State Univ.) André de Gouvêa (Northwestern Univ.) Michael Green (Cambridge Univ.) Karen Hallberg (Balseiro Inst.) Luis Lehner (Perimeter Inst.)

## **ICTP-SAIFR STAFF**

Nathan Berkovits (Director) Rogerio Rosenfeld (Vice-Director) Pedro Vieira (Perimeter-SAIFR Coordinator) Elisa Pomari (Activities Coordinator) Humberto Neto (Executive Secretary) Luiz Eduardo Moreira (Computer Systems Manager) Lilia Faria (Financial Manager) Marrey Peres, Jr. (Operations Manager)
Thiago Codinhoto (Technical Assistant)
Felipe Saldanha (Communications Coordinator)