

MINICOURSES

Jasna Brujic (NYU, USA) *Bioinspired applications*

Mauro Copelli (UFPE, Brazil) *Neuroscience*

Letícia Cugliandolo (Sorbonne U., France) *Complexity / Mean-field theory*

Ezequiel Ferrero (CONICET-CNEA, Argentina) *Driven Disordered Systems*

Eduardo Miranda (UNICAMP, Brazil)

Disordered strongly correlated systems

Anton Souslov (U. of Cambridge, UK) *Disordered elastic materials*

Matthieu Wyart (JHU, USA; on leave from EPFL) *Machine learning*

INVITED SPEAKERS

José Soares Andrade (UFC, Brazil)

Jeferson Arenzon (UFRGS, Brazil)

Vivian França (UNESP, Brazil)

Letícia Paiva (UFSJ, Brazil)

Luis A. Pugnaloni (UNLPam, Argentina)

Disorder plays a central role in the theoretical description of a rich variety of systems spanning several disciplines — soft and hard condensed matter, biology, information science and engineering. Today, there is a surplus of enthusiastic and capable students with a diverse background who are eager to receive systematic training on powerful theoretical methods and exciting recent developments in the field. One of the goals of our school is to reach a broad audience that includes students interested in complexity or bio-inspired applications, as well as information science and quantum materials. Our school will establish a common forum where theories of general interest can be learned and discussed, catalyze the nucleation of new research lines in São Paulo and Brazil, and expose students to a full breadth of intellectual opportunity in the field of disordered systems.

As a São Paulo School of Advanced Science, additional funds are available for travel and local expenses of Master's and PhD students from both South America and other continents.

Application deadline: **February 15, 2025**



Online application and more information: **ictp-saifr.org/spsasds2025**











ORGANIZERS

Carolina Brito (UFRGS, Brazil) Danilo Liarte (ICTP-SAIFR/IFT-UNESP, Brazil) André Vieira (USP, Brazil)

ICTP-SAIFR STEERING COMMITTEE

Atish Dabholkar (chair, ICTP director)
Pasqual Barretti (UNESP rector)
Márcio de Castro Silva Filho (FAPESP scientific director)
Hugo Aguilaniu (Serrapilheira president-director)
Helena Nader (Brazilian Academy of Sciences president)
Juan Maldacena (South American representative)

ICTP-SAIFR SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL

Carlos Brito Cruz (chair, Elsevier)
Rosario Fazio (ICTP)
Ricardo Matheus (IFT-UNESP)
William Bialek (Princeton Univ.)
Eduardo Fradkin (Univ. of Illinois)
Gabriela Gonzalez (Louisiana State Univ.)
André de Gouvêa (Northwestern Univ.)
Michael Green (Cambridge Univ.)
Karen Hallberg (Balseiro Inst.)
Luis Lehner (Perimeter Inst.)

ICTP-SAIFR STAFF

Nathan Berkovits (Director)
Rogerio Rosenfeld (Vice-Director)
Pedro Vieira (Perimeter-SAIFR Coordinator)
Elisa Pomari (Activities Coordinator)
Humberto Neto (Executive Secretary)
Luiz Eduardo Moreira (Computer Systems Manager)
Lilia Faria (Financial Manager)
Daniel Almeida (Visitors Coordinator)
Marrey Peres, Jr. (Operations Manager)
Thiago Codinhoto (Technical Assistant)
Felipe Saldanha (Communications Coordinator)