

# APS-SAIFR SATELLITE GLOBAL PHYSICS SUMMIT

## March 17, 2025 at IFT-UNESP, São Paulo, Brazil

## **INVITED SPEAKERS**

**Fernando Brandão** (Caltech, USA) Scale-efficient quantum error correction using concatenated bosonic qubits

**Simon Groeblacher** (Delft U. of Tech, Netherlands) *Controlling a superconducting qubit with light* 

**Yiwen Chu** (ETH Zurich, Switzerland) *A mechanical qubit* 

**Rafael Barros** (USP São Paulo, Brazil) *Hybrid quantum frequency conversion* 

**Patricia Castilho** (USP São Carlos, Brazil) A 2D Bose gas to study quantum hydrodynamic instabilities

**Guilherme Temporão** (PUC Rio, Brazil) *Tackling engineering challenges in metropolitan quantum networks*  To extend the reach and diversity of its annual meetings, the American Physical Society has developed a pilot program of APS Satellite Meetings with the participation of ICTP-SAIFR in Latin America. As part of the APS Global Physics Summit from March 16-21, 2025, ICTP-SAIFR is organizing on March 17 (Monday) a 2-hour Satellite Session on Quantum Technologies that will be broadcast live to all participants of the APS Meeting, as well as a 2-hour session on Quantum Systems for student/postdoc presentations to a local audience.

Graduate students and postdocs can apply until March 1, 2025 to present a short talk or poster at the student-postdoc session on Quantum Systems.

The 2-hour satellite session from 15:30-17:30 on March 17 will be held both in the IFT-UNESP auditorium and in the Anaheim APS conference center as a joint hybrid activity. The complete schedule of sessions of the APS Global Physics Summit can be found on the APS Global Physics Summit webapage.

There is no registration fee for participation in the APS-SAIFR Satellite Meeting.

Application deadline for students/ postdocs to present short talk or poster: March 1, 2025

More information: ictp-saifr.org/apssgps2025



vancing

### ORGANIZERS

Nathan Berkovits (ICTP-SAIFR/IFT-UNESP) Gustavo Wiederhecker

Gustavo Wiederheo (Unicamp)

#### ICTP-SAIFR STEERING COMMITTEE Atish Dabholkar (chair, ICTP director)

Maysa Furlan (UNESP rector) Márcio de Castro Silva Filho (FAPESP scientific director) Hugo Aguilaniu (Serrapilheira president-director) Helena Nader (Brazilian Academy of Sciences president) Juan Maldacena (South American representative)

### **ICTP-SAIFR SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL**

Carlos Brito Cruz (chair, Elsevier) Rosario Fazio (ICTP) Ricardo Matheus (IFT-UNESP) William Bialek (Princeton Univ.) Eduardo Fradkin (Univ. of Illinois) Gabriela Gonzalez (Louisiana State Univ.) André de Gouvêa (Northwestern Univ.) Michael Green (Cambridge Univ.) Karen Hallberg (Balseiro Inst.) Luis Lehner (Perimeter Inst.)

### ICTP-SAIFR STAFF

Nathan Berkovits (Director) Rogerio Rosenfeld (Vice-Director) Pedro Vieira (Perimeter-SAIFR Coordinator) Larissa Takeda (Activities Coordinator) Humberto Neto (Executive Secretary) Luiz Eduardo Moreira (Computer Systems Manager) Lilia Faria (Financial Manager) Daniel Almeida (Visitors Coordinator) Marrey Peres, Jr. (Operations Manager) Thiago Codinhoto (Technical Assistant) Felipe Saldanha (Communications Coordinator)