



Campus of IFT-UNESP – São Paulo, Brazil



CHEN JI Central China Normal University, China Halo nuclei, clustering and universality

FRANCESCA BONAITI Michigan State University, USA Extension of the ab-initio approach to heavier nuclei May 27 - 31, 2025

ICTP-SAIFR/MITP SCHOOL ON MULTINEUTRON CLUSTERS IN NUCLEI AND IN STARS





Application deadline:

March 15, 2025

TAKASHI NAKAMURA Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan Experimental probes of multineutron systems

INGO TEWS

Laboratory, USA

Ab-initio approach

and applications

Los Alamos National

Neutron-rich nuclei at the edge of instability pose significant challenges to experimental investigations and our theoretical understanding of their structure and reactions. Novel experimental tools are being developed to probe multineutron correlations and clustering, where emerging low-energy universal phenomena exposes the limits of current ab initio approaches. While these approaches have been successful in describing properties of nuclei close to the valley of stability, they may struggle to account for the long-range multinucleon correlations present in exotic neutron-rich nuclei. The study of such systems is also very relevant for neutron stars and astrophysical phenomena.

The one-week joint ICTP-SAIFR/MITP School on Multineutron Clusters in Nuclei and Stars will address topics such as the emergence of multineutron systems, the dynamics of weakly bound systems, few- and many-body ab initio approaches, and their connections to the equation of state of nuclear matter.

This activity will be followed by the Workshop on Multineutron Clusters in Nuclei and Stars from June 2 to 6.

There is no registration fee and limited funds are available for travel and local expenses.







ORGANIZERS

Sonia Bacca (Mainz University, Germany) Carlos Bertulani (Texas A&M University, USA) Emiko Hiyama (Tohoku University, Japan) Tobias Frederico (ITA, Brazil)

ICTP-SAIFR STEERING COMMITTEE Atish Dabholkar (chair, ICTP director) Pasqual Barretti (UNESP rector) Márcio de Castro Silva Filho (FAPESP scientific director) Hugo Aguilaniu (Serrapilheira president-director) Helena Nader (Brazilian Academy of Sciences president) Juan Maldacena (South American representative)

ICTP-SAIFR SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL Carlos Brito Cruz (chair, Elsevier) Rosario Fazio (ICTP) Ricardo Matheus (IFT-UNESP) William Bialek (Princeton Univ.) Eduardo Fradkin (Univ. of Illinois) Gabriela Gonzalez (Louisiana State Univ.) André de Gouvêa (Northwestern Univ.) Michael Green (Cambridge Univ.) Karen Hallberg (Balseiro Inst.) Luis Lehner (Perimeter Inst.)

ICTP-SAIFR STAFF

Online application and more information:

ictp-saifr.org/smcns2025

Nathan Berkovits (Director) Rogerio Rosenfeld (Vice-Director) Pedro Vieira (Perimeter-SAIFR Coordinator) Elisa Pomari (Activities Coordinator) Humberto Neto (Executive Secretary) Luiz Eduardo Moreira (Computer Systems Manager) Lilia Faria (Financial Manager) Daniel Almeida (Visitors Coordinator) Marrey Peres, Jr. (Operations Manager) Thiago Codinhoto (Technical Assistant) Felipe Saldanha (Communications Coordinator)