ICTP International Centre for Theoretical Physics SAIFR South American Institute for Fundamental Research

Campus of IFT-UNESP – São Paulo, Brazil



JOSE M. EZOUIAGA **Niels Bohr Institute, Denmark** A premiere on Gravitational Wave Cosmology

FRANCISCO ANTONIO

VILLAESCUSA NAVARRO Simmons Foundation and Princeton University, USA Machine Learning Methods for Cosmology



GONZALO PALMA Universidad de Chile, Santiago, Chile Physics of Inflation



Physics of the Cosmic Microwave Background

ROMAN SCOCCIMARRO New York University, USA Large scale structure theory

Since the turning of the century, cosmology has become a data driven science. Several observational probes of the Universe, such as the cosmic microwave background, the large scale distribution of galaxies, the weak gravitational lensing of galaxy shapes, the mapping of supernovas, the number of clusters of galaxies and gravitational waves from coalescing binaries are being studied by different observatories to explore fundamental physics describing the nature of dark matter and dark energy. Moreover, new tools and data intensive techniques, like artificial intelligence and simulation based inference, are being developed and their potential for cosmological applications is yet to be fully explored.

This is the fifth edition of a joint ICTP-Trieste/ICTP-SAIFR two-week Cosmology School, aimed at providing students and young researchers with the necessary tools for understanding the current issues in modern cosmology and to familiarize them with how recent observations can be used to constrain different cosmological models and parameters.

There is no registration fee and limited funds are available for travel and local expenses.

Application deadline:

May 17, 2025

Online application and more information:

ictp-saifr.org/ictptriestesc2025











Paolo Creminelli (ICTP-Trieste) hrdad Mirbabayi (ICTP-Trieste) gerio Rosenfeld (IFT-UNESP/ICTP-SAIFR) ardo Sturani (IFT-UNESP/ICTP-SAIFR)

ICTP-SAIFR STEERING COMMITTEE Atish Dabholkar (chair, ICTP director) Maysa Furlan (UNESP rector) Márcio de Castro Silva Filho (FAPESP scientific director) Hugo Aguilaniu (Serrapilheira president-director) Helena Nader (Brazilian Academy of Sciences president) Juan Maldacena (South American representative)

ICTP-SAIFR SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL

Carlos Brito Cruz (chair, Elsevier) Rosario Fazio (ICTP) Ricardo Matheus (IFT-UNESP) William Bialek (Princeton Univ.) Eduardo Fradkin (Univ. of Illinois) Gabriela Gonzalez (Louisiana State Univ.) André de Gouvêa (Northwestern Univ.) Michael Green (Cambridge Univ.) Karen Hallberg (Balseiro Inst.) Luis Lehner (Perimeter Inst.)

ICTP-SAIFR STAFF

Nathan Berkovits (Director) Rogerio Rosenfeld (Vice-Director) Pedro Vieira (Perimeter-SAIFR Coordinator) Larissa Takeda (Activities Coordinator) Humberto Neto (Executive Secretary) Luiz Eduardo Moreira (Computer Systems Manager) Lilia Faria (Financial Manager) Daniel Almeida (Visitors Coordinator) Marrey Peres, Jr. (Operations Manager) Thiago Codinhoto (Technical Assistant) Felipe Saldanha (Communications Coordinator)