

II BRAZILIAN WORKSHOP ON SOFT MATTER

April 7 – 11, 2025 at Principia Institute, São Paulo, Brazil

INVITED SPEAKERS

Márcia Barbosa (UFRGS, Brazil) Dan Beller (Johns Hopkins U., USA) Ana Laura Benavides (U. de Guanajuato, Mexico) Ignacio Bordeu (U. de Chile, Chile) Clécio Clemente (UFPE, Brazil) Kaline Coutinho (USP, Brazil) Eduardo Jagla (Instituto Balseiro, Argentina) **Liesbeth Janssen** (TU/e, Netherlands) Eleni Katifori (U. of Pennsylvania, USA) Yan Levin (UFRGS, Brazil) Frederic Nallet (U. de Bordeaux, France) Wim Noorduin (AMOLF, Netherlands) **M. Leticia Puzzo** (U. Nacional de La Plata, Argentina) Chantal Valeriani (U. Complutense de Madrid, Spain) Edgar Zanotto (UFSCAR, Brazil)

Soft matter encompasses a wide variety of disparate systems, ranging from polymers and colloids to surfactants, liquid crystals and active biological matter (e.g. bacteria and flocks of birds). The second edition of the Brazilian Workshop on Soft Matter will bring together experienced students and researchers, and provide a platform for fostering collaboration among members of the soft matter community in Brazil, as well as a forum for discussion of key recent developments in the field. In addition to several research seminars that will be given by outstanding invited speakers, selected participants will have the opportunity to present short talks, and take part in a series of activities at the new Brazilian synchrotron light source (Sirius).

There is no registration fee and limited funds are available for travel and local expenses. This workshop will be followed by the School on Biological Physics and Biomolecular Simulations from April 14-19.

Application deadline (for presentation and/or financial support request): February 15, 2025

Registration deadline: March 27, 2025

More information: ictp-saifr.org/bwsm2025







ORGANIZERS

Pablo de Castro (ICTP-SAIFR and IFT-UNESP, Brazil) Danilo B. Liarte (ICTP-SAIFR and IFT-UNESP, Brazil) Mateus B. Cardoso (Sirius-CNPEM, Brazil) Cristiano L. P. de Oliveira (IF-USP, Brazil)

ICTP-SAIFR STEERING COMMITTEE Atish Dabholkar (chair, ICTP director)

Pasqual Barretti (UNESP rector) Márcio de Castro Silva Filho (FAPESP scientific director) Hugo Aguilaniu (Serrapilheira president-director) Helena Nader (Brazilian Academy of Sciences president) Juan Maldacena (South American representative)

ICTP-SAIFR SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL

Carlos Brito Cruz (chair, Elsevier) Rosario Fazio (ICTP) Ricardo Matheus (IFT-UNESP) William Bialek (Princeton Univ.) Eduardo Fradkin (Univ. of Illinois) Gabriela Gonzalez (Louisiana State Univ.) André de Gouvêa (Northwestern Univ.) Michael Green (Cambridge Univ.) Karen Hallberg (Balseiro Inst.) Luis Lehner (Perimeter Inst.)

ICTP-SAIFR STAFF

Nathan Berkovits (Director) Rogerio Rosenfeld (Vice-Director) Pedro Vieira (Perimeter-SAIFR Coordinator) Elisa Pomari (Activities Coordinator) Humberto Neto (Executive Secretary) Luiz Eduardo Moreira (Computer Systems Manager) Lilia Faria (Financial Manager) Daniel Almeida (Visitors Coordinator) Marrey Peres, Jr. (Operations Manager) Thiago Codinhoto (Technical Assistant) Felipe Saldanha (Communications Coordinator)